top of page

Discover Your Home in Franklin Township: Where Community Flourishes!

Welcome to

Franklin Township

The Franklin Township will be holding a work session on November 16, 2023 at 5:30 P.M. to discuss new payroll system, personnel and budget for 2024


FRANKLIN TOWNSHIP is one of the twenty‐two townships in Tuscarawas County, Ohio and is one of twenty‐one Franklin Townships statewide. The Village of Strasburg is located within Franklin Township. The township has a total area of 23.4 square miles and has 4,846 residents as reported in the 2020 census.

The township is governed by a three‐member board of trustees, who are elected in November of odd‐numbered years to a four‐year term beginning the following January 1st. Two trustees are elected in the year after the presidential election and
one trustee is elected the year before the presidential election. A fiscal officer, also elected in the year before the presidential election, serves a four‐year term beginning the following April 1st. Vacancies in elected positions are filled by the remaining trustees.


Police protection in the township excluding the village is provided by the Tuscarawas County Sheriff's Department. Fire protection is provided by the Strasburg‐Franklin Fire Department.  Franklin Township jointly owns and operates the Strasburg‐Franklin Joint Economic Development and the Grandview Union Cemetery with the Village of Strasburg.

Franklin Township

Meeting Information

Second Thursday of each month beginning at 7:00pm

bottom of page